True urgent care innovators—including a long-time JUCM contributor and supporter—and humanitarians are being honored with Urgent Care Foundation Awards in 2020. Perhaps most familiar to JUCM readers will be David Stern, MD, who is set to receive the Foundation’s Outstanding Achievement Award for his long history of having a positive impact on the industry. Dr. Stern created an urgent care-specific electronic medical records and practice management software company, Practice Velocity, which recently merged with DocuTAP to become Experity; he’s now the CEO of that company. Dr. Stern was one of the founding members of the Urgent Care Association, as well as an original contributor to JUCM. In addition, the Foundation will honor the first paid UCA employee, Becky Burress, with its first-ever Unsung Heroes Award—which will also be named in her honor. Ms. Burrows went on to become the administrative director of the North East Regional Urgent Care Association before passing away in July. Other honorees to be feted during the UCA2020 Urgent Care Convention & Expo on May 4, 2020 in Las Vegas are Lynda Gerberg, MD (Humanitarian Award); Pam Sullivan, MD, MBA, FACP, PT and Eric McDonald (Lifetime Membership Awards); and Frank Illuzzi, MD, CPE, FACEP and Amanda Montalbano, MD, MPH (Quality and Safety Awards).



Who Are the Shining Stars of the Urgent Care Galaxy?
Share this !