Mission Statement

JUCM The Journal of Urgent Care Medicine (ISSN 19380011) supports the evolution of urgent care medicine by creating content that addresses both the clinical practice of urgent care medicine and the practice management challenges of keeping pace with an ever-changing healthcare marketplace. As the Official Publication of the Urgent Care Association and the College of Urgent Care Medicine, JUCM seeks to provide a forum for the exchange of ideas regarding the clinical and business best practices for running an urgent care center.

Journal Ethics

JUCM® expects the highest ethical standards from its authors, reviewers, and editors when conducting research, submitting papers, and throughout the peer-review process. JUCM® has applied to be a member of the Committee on Publishing Ethics (COPE) and follows its recommendations on publication ethics and standards. For additional information on COPE, please visit http://publicationethics.org/.

Copyright and Licensing

© Copyright 2019 by Braveheart Group, LLC. No part of this publication may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including photocopy, recording, or any information storage and retrieval system, without written permission from the Publisher. For information on reprints or commercial licensing of content, please contact the Publisher.


JUCM: Journal of Urgent Care Medicine is owned and published by Braveheart Group, LLC, 185 State Route 17, Suite 4, Mahwah, NJ 07430


JUCM is published by agreement between Braveheart Group, LLC and the Urgent Care Association (www.ucaoa.org) and the College of Urgent Care Medicine (www.uccop.org). JUCM serves as the official publication of both organizations


Lee A. Resnick, MD, FAAFP

Chief Medical and Operating Officer, WellStreet Urgent Care

Assistant Clinical Professor, Case Western Reserve University, Department of Family Medicine


Harris Fleming

Managing Editor
[email protected]

Alan A. Ayers, MBA, MAcc

Associate Editor, Practice Management

Michael B. Weinstock, MD

Associate Editor, Clinical Content

Joshua Russell, MD, MSc, FAAEM, FACEP

Contributing Editor

David Stern, MD, CPC

Contributing Editor

Stuart Williams

[email protected]

Tom DePrenda

Art Director [email protected]

Brandon Napolitano

Marketing Manager [email protected]


Alan A. Ayers, MBA, MAcc

CEO, Velocity Urgent Care

Jasmeet Singh Bhogal, MD

Medical Director, VirtuaExpress Urgent Care

President, College of Urgent Care Medicine

Tom Charland

CEO, Merchant Medicine LLC

Jeffrey P. Collins, MD, MA

Chief Medical Officer, MD Now Urgent Care

Part-Time Instructor, Harvard Medical School

Tracey Quail Davidoff, MD

Rochester Regional Health/Immediate Care

Senior Clinical Instructor, Dept. of Emergency Medicine, Rochester General Hospital

Thomas E. Gibbons, MD, MBA, FACEP

Attending Physician, Lexington Medical Center Urgent Care

President, Columbia Medical Society

William Gluckman, DO, MBA, FACEP, CPE

CEO, FastER Urgent Care Clinical Assistant Professor of Emergency Medicine, Rutgers New Jersey Medical School

David Gollogly, MBChB, FCUCP (New Zealand)

Chair, Royal New Zealand College of Urgent Care

Glenn Harnett, MD

Principal, No Resistance Consulting Group

Trustee, UCA Urgent Care Foundation

Toni Hogencamp, MD

Regional Medical Director, PM Pediatrics

Founding Member, Society for Pediatric Urgent Care

Sean M. McNeeley, MD

Network Medical Director, University Hospitals Urgent Care

Clinical Instructor, Case Western Reserve Univ. School of Medicine

President, Urgent Care Assn.

Shailendra K. Saxena, MD, PhD

Professor, Creighton University Medical School

Elisabeth L. Scheufele, MD, MS, FAAP

Physician, Massachusetts General Hospital, Chelsea Urgent Care

Physician Informaticist

Laurel Stoimenoff, PT, CHC

CEO, Urgent Care Association

Joseph Toscano, MD

Chief, Emergency Medicine
Medical Director, Occupational Medicine
San Romon Regional Medical Center

Board Member, Board of Certification in Urgent Care Medicine

Janet Williams, MD, FACEP

Medical Director, Rochester Regional Health Immediate Care

Clinical Faculty, Rochester Institute of Technology


Kenneth V. Iserson, MD, MBA, FACEP, FAAEM

The University of Arizona

Peter Rosen, MD

Harvard Medical School

Martin A. Samuels, MD, DSc (Hon), FAAN, MACP

Harvard Medical School

Kurt C. Stange, MD, PhD

Case Western Reserve University

Robin M. Weinick, PhD

RTI International


Sean McNeeley, MD


Pamela Sullivan, MD, MBA, FACP, PT

Immediate Past President

Richard Park, MD, BS


Shaun Ginter, MBA, FACHE


Lou Ellen Horwitz, MA


Joe Chow, MD, MBA


Mike Dalton, MBA, CPA


Max Lebow, MD, MPH


Damaris Medina, Esq.


Armando Samaniego, MD, MBA


Jeanne Zucker


Laurel Stoimenoff, PT, CHC