The 100 largest urgent care operators in the United States run approximately 25% of the locations under their banners, according to research by Practice Velocity and National Urgent Care Realty. They’re getting even bigger, too; the number of locations owned by the companies on the list expanded by about 20% this year. While ownership was once delineated between hospital-affiliated and independents, several multi-unit operators now operate in some (but not all) of their markets as hospital joint ventures or under management agreements. Large national hospital operators (eg, HCA, Tenet) are also developing national networks of distinctly branded urgent care centers. The biggest of the big are listed here, sorted by number of locations as of January and November 2016. (Note: N/A indicates the operation either did not exist or was not tracked in January 2016.) For the complete list of 100 largest urgent care operators, visit www.jucm.com.

Number of Locations
Rank Urgent Care Name Website Hospital Owned/Affiliated? 2015 2016
1 Concentra www.concentra.com JVs in Selected Markets 293 294
2 MedExpress Urgent Care www.medexpress.com No 176 200
3 American Family Care www.afcurgentcare.com No 168 174
4 U.S. HealthWorks www.ushealthworks.com Dignity Health 162 161
5 NextCare www.nextcare.com No 133 136
6 FastMed www.fastmed.com No 109 124
7 Patient First www.patientfirst.com JVs in Selected Markets 73 74
8 CityMD Urgent Care www.citymd.net JVs in Selected Markets 54 69
9 CareNow www.carenow.com Hospital Corporation of America 25 65
10 GoHealth Urgent Care www.gohealthuc.com JVs in Selected Markets NA 59
11 MedPost Urgent Care www.medpost.com Tenet Healthcare 54 55
12 Doctors Care www.doctorscare.com No 52 52
13 Fast Pace Urgent Care www.fastpaceurgentcare.com No 35 41
14 Centra Care www.centracare.org Adventist Health System 35 38
15 PIC – Physicians Immediate Care www.physiciansimmediatecare.com JVs in Selected Markets 37 38
16 MedSpring Urgent Care www.medspring.com JVs in Selected Markets 35 37
17 Aurora Health Center Urgent Care www.aurorahealthcare.org Yes 35 35
18 Banner Urgent Care www.urgentcareextra.com Yes NA 34
19 Intermountain Instacare www.intermountainhealthcare.org Yes 30 34
20 MD Now Urgent Care www.mymdnow.com No 26 30
21 ProHEALTH Urgent Care www.prohealthurgentcare.com No 24 30
22 Urgent Team www.urgentteam.com No 21 30
23 ZoomCare www.zoomcare.com No 28 29
24 Carolinas HealthCare Urgent Care www.carolinashealthcare.org Yes 27 28
25 ExpressCare Urgent Care www.whywaitintheer.com No 23 28
26 CRH Healthcare www.crhhealthcare.com JVs in Selected Markets 20 27
27 Hometown Urgent Care & Occupational Health www.hometownurgentcare.com No 23 24
28 Providence Health & Services Urgent Care www.providence.org Yes 22 23
29 Advocate Health Immediate Care www.advocatehealth.com Yes 21 21
30 Mayo Clinic Health System Urgent Care www.mayoclinichealthsystem.org Yes 21 21
31 PM Pediatrics www.pmpediatrics.com No 18 19
32 Premier Urgent Care www.premierimc.com No 19 19
33 CareWell Urgent Care www.carewellurgentcare.com JVs in Selected Markets 16 18
34 Complete Care www.completeemergencycare.com No NA 18
35 HealthCare Partners Urgent Care www.healthcarepartners.com No 21 18
36 Baptist South Florida Urgent Care www.baptisthealth.net Yes 17 17
37 Novant Health Urgent Care www.novanthealth.org Yes 15 17
38 Texas MedClinic www.texasmedclinic.com No 17 17
39 MultiCare Urgent Care www.multicare.org Yes 11 16
40 AppleCare Immediate Care www.applecaredoctors.com JVs in Selected Markets 16 15
41 Baptist Health KY Urgent Care www.baptisthealthkentucky.com Yes 13 15
42 ImmediateClinic www.immediateclinic.com Yes 13 15
43 MedStar PromptCare www.medstarhealth.org Yes 13 15
44 PhysicianOne Urgent Care www.physicianoneurgentcare.com No 13 15
45 Piedmont Urgent Care by WellStreet www.wellstreet.com Yes 10 15
46 Primary Health Medical Group Urgent Care www.primaryhealth.com No 15 15
47 Total Access Urgent Care www.totalaccessurgentcare.com No 8 15
48 Righttime Medical Care www.myrighttime.com No 14 14
49 MEA Ambulatory Care www.meamedicalclinics.com Yes 12 13
50 Norton Immediate Care Center www.nortonhealthcare.com Yes 13 13
51 OSF PromptCare www.osfhealthcare.org Yes 13 13
52 Promptu Immediate Care www.promptucare.com Christus Health NA 13
53 Excel Urgent Care www.excel-urgentcare.com No 12 12
54 MHM Urgent Care www.mhmurgentcare.com No 14 12
55 Saint Alphonsus Urgent Care www.saintalphonsus.org Yes 10 12
56 AtlantiCare Urgent Care www.atlanticareurgentcare.com Yes 11 11
57 ClearChoiceMD www.ccmdcenters.com JVs in Selected Markets 10 11
58 IU Health Urgent Care www.iuhealth.org Yes NA 11
59 Prevea Urgent Care www.prevea.com Yes 10 11
60 UPMC Urgent Care www.upmc.com Yes 11 11
61 Allina Health Urgent Care www.allinahealth.org Yes 11 10
62 Everett Walk-In Clinic www.everettclinic.com No 9 10
63 Hoag Urgent Care www.hoag.org Yes 9 10
64 Lake After Hours www.lakeafterhours.com/ Yes 10 10
65 Michigan Urgent Care & Occupational Health www.michiganurgentcare.com No 10 10
66 Night Lite Pediatrics Urgent Care www.nightlitepediatrics.com No 10 10
67 OhioHealth Urgent Care www.ohiohealthuc.com/ Yes 10 10
68 PPG FirstCare www.parkview.com Yes 10 10
69 St. Vincent Immediate Care www.stvincent.org Yes 10 10
70 AmCare – Doctors Urgent Care www.amcareinc.com/ No 9 9
71 Doctors on Duty www.doctorsonduty.com No 9 9
72 Ocean State Urgent Care www.oceanstateurgentcare.com No NA 9
73 Physicians Care – TN www.phycare.net No 9 9
74 PMG Urgent Care www.phs.org Yes 9 9
75 Stat Health Walk-In Medical Center www.stathealthny.com No 8 9
76 Community Health MedCheck www.ecommunity.com Yes 8 8
77 Exer – More Than Urgent Care www.exerurgentcare.com No NA 8
78 Hartford HealthCare Medical Group (UC) www.hartfordmedicalgroup.com Yes 12 8
79 Park Nicollet Urgent Care www.parknicollet.com Yes NA 8
80 BetterMed Urgent Care www.bettermedcare.com No NA 7
81 EmUrgentCare www.emurgentcare.com Yes NA 7
82 Eugene Urgent Care www.eugeneurgentcare.com No NA 7
83 MASH Urgent Care www.mashurgentcare.com No 7 7
84 Maxem Health Urgent Care www.maxemhealthurgentcare.com No NA 7
85 MEDcare Urgent Care www.medcareurgentcare.com No 7 7
86 Northeast Georgia Physicians Group Urgent Care www.ngpg.org Yes NA 7
87 Partners Urgent Care www.partnersurgentcare.org Yes NA 7
88 Rocky Mountain Urgent Care www.rockymountainurgentcare.com No 7 7
89 Tristan Medical www.tristanmed.com No 7 7
90 U.N.I. Urgent Care Center www.uniurgentcare.com No NA 7
91 Alliance Urgent Care www.allianceurgentcare.com No 6 6
92 Edward-Elmhurst Immediate Care www.eehealth.org Yes NA 6
93 Fast Track Urgent Care www.fasttrackurgentcare.com No NA 6
94 Memorial Hermann Urgent Care www.memorialhermann.org Yes NA 6
95 SmartCare Urgent Care www.smartcareuc.com JVs in Selected Markets NA 6
96 St. Luke’s Care Now www.stlukescarenow.org Yes NA 6
97 Henry Ford Walk In Clinic www.henryford.com Yes NA 5
98 Our Urgent Care www.oururgentcare.com No NA 5
99 Rapid Urgent Care www.rapidurgentcare.com No NA 5
100 Southern Arizona Urgent Care www.southernarizonaurgentcare.com No NA 5

 

Source: Practice Velocity and National Urgent Care Realty, November, 2016.

100 Largest Urgent Care Center Operators
Share this !